How to Make a Great Lasangna

The other night I tried my hand at making my first non-vegetarian lasagna in years (I make a mean vegetarian lasagna, so I rarely stray).

I roasted yellow and orange bell peppers, and slice them into small pieces. I also roasted the cloves from two heads of garlic–I bundled them in aluminum foil with balsamic vinegar, smoked sea salt, pepper and a basil infused olive oil. All that was mixed and heated with some cooked Jenny-O Italian seasoned ground turkey and a simple canned sauce by Barilla. Oh, and big fat slices of mushrooms! I refuse to cook pasta without mushrooms.

Here’s where my little secret come in. Many use ricotta in lasagna, but my boyfriend thinks ricotta is a waste of space, so I recalled my mother’s lasagna which I loved so much growing up. I mixed a container of cottage cheese with shredded mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. Then you do the lasagna thing, layer and repeat.

I don’t have any photos because I was too hungry to take any, but it was very well received. I like the cottage cheese, it adds a great flavor and works as a melted cheese matrix, making the lasagna itself cheese defyingly neat and tidy, but still filled with warm oozie goodness!

Leave a Reply

