Release the Kraken!

Christmas grocery shopping isn’t complete without a trip to the local liquor store, whether it’s to stock up on supplies to guarantee a warm and merry Christmas morning (Irish coffee, anyone?), or to use in various desserts. Booze is the reason for the season!? Not quite, but it can be a very important ingredient for holiday fun.
Last Christmas I received a jug of Kraken Black Spiced Rum in my stocking, and fittingly, we just polished it off several weeks ago. Tonight, a praline recipe calls for some rum, so I found myself returning to this wonderful old friend. This is rum you can quietly sip or raucously chug, if that’s your thing, without feeling too much of a harsh liquor burn.
I’m not a fan if straight liquor at all, but trust me, this stuff is smooth, especially for a kraken.
At the end of the day, you also can’t beat the marketing. I’m pretty sure I’d buy this stuff even if it burned like an everclear soaked cherry bomb. Thankfully, it looks great on the shelf, is easy on the taste buds, and VERY gentle on the wallet. I suppose it’s only a matter of time before the company realizes what they have and raises the prices, but until then, cheers!

20111216-174759.jpg

One thought on “Release the Kraken!

Leave a Reply

