Behind the Lens: Maui

Seven years ago, I lived on Maui, and I still miss it just about every day. It’s pretty much the most beautiful place on earth. If anyone is planning a trip to Maui, hit me up for info!  I can design an awesome itinerary to work around a huge or tiny amount of time.  I also know the best places to eat, and although no one ever goes to Hawaii ‘for the cuisine’, they really should!

If you hadn’t noticed, I’ve been posting a bunch of my photography lately.  It’s something I really enjoy, and I really do love my camera.

I did not have my Nikon D90 on this trip. I was not allowed to purchase one for myself until I had ‘proven’ to a significant other (who really shouldn’t have been in charge of the finances in the first place and had no problem spending all our money on video game consoles, comic books and large flat screen tv’s) that I had any skill with a camera. Basically, my ex is a jerk.

So, I used this trip to ‘prove myself’.  Unfortunately, that makes the photos of this beautiful scenery a bit of a bitter pill for me. I don’t take kindly to unwarranted acts of authority like that.  I also bemoan how much better so many of these photos COULD be.

As you can see, it is a hobby I have kept up, and the camera and my passion for photography have certainly lasted longer than the ex. That, my friends, is a beautiful thing.

2 thoughts on “Behind the Lens: Maui

Leave a Reply

