Superstition

The Irish tend to be a superstitious lot, and I’m certainly Irish. I’m a scientific person. I got a big fancy degree from a big fancy famous science university, but all that did was solidify it.

There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio,
Than are dreamt of in your philosophy.
William Shakespeare, “Hamlet”, Act 1 scene 5

I’ve been reading a great book, one of many I have purchased about superstitions from around the world. Man, it feels so good to know there is more to life than logic and reason!

Some of my superstitions:

I throw spilled salt over my shoulder.

I avoid walking under ladders, always have, but more recently it’s because as an occupational safety nerd, I know better.

I own items of clothing and jewelry, even a rock, that bring me luck and are full of warm wonderful energy.

A bird flying into the house or resting on an open windowsill means there will soon be a death in the house.

A recent new superstition is that the woman of the house should never plant lavender.

I once made a u-turn that ended up changing my life completely. I’m not speaking metaphorically. I didn’t go on a trip I had planned and turned around after 200 miles. I get an eerie feeling every time I change my plans for a trip now.

I’m not unconvinced of the existence of the banshee and leprechauns.

It’s bad luck to kill spiders!

When a moth comes into the house, it’s the spirit of a loved one visiting.

Always offer the first drop of your alcoholic drink to the fairies in the house.

Oh, by the way, there are fairies in the house, and they like booze.

20110917-040158.jpg

2 thoughts on “Superstition

  1. Len Billeck

    “I was about half in love with her by the time we sat down. That’s the thing about girls. Every time they do something pretty… you fall half in love with them, and then you never know where the hell you are.” ~ J. D. Salinger

    Reply

Leave a Reply

